~~WORD OF THE DAY~~


New York Stories - Life Without Zoe
New York Stories – Life Without Zoe (Photo credit: Arty Smokes (deaf mute))

 

mawkish

\MAW-kish\ adjective

1 : having a weak often unpleasant taste 2 : marked by sickly sentimentality : sad or romantic in a foolish or exaggerated way

Examples:

Tessa preferred to give out humorous greeting cards to her friends as opposed to the mawkish ones that were supposed to make them cry.

“Although [the Bee Gees] harmonized beautifully, they had none of the Fab Four’s cheekiness or verbal cleverness. In contrast to the Beatles, their ballad-heavy music was often mawkish.”  From Alice Echols‘ 2011 book Hot Stuff: Disco and the Remaking of American Culture

Did you know?

The etymology of “mawkish” really opens up a can of worms or, more properly, maggots. The “mawk” of “mawkish” derives from Middle English “mawke,” which means “maggot.” “Mawke,” in its turn, developed from the Old Norse word “mathkr,” which had the same meaning as its descendant. Although “mawkish” literally means “maggoty,” since at least the 17th century English speakers have eschewed its decaying carcass implications and used it figuratively instead. As one language writer put it, “Time has treated ‘mawkish’ gently: the wormy stench and corruption of its primal state were forgotten and ‘mawkish’ became sickly in a weak sort of way instead of repulsive and revolting.”

 

 

6 thoughts on “~~WORD OF THE DAY~~

  1. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get
    home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyhow, good blog!

  2. Greate post. Keep writing such kind of info on your page.
    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hi there, You’ve performed an excellent job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally
    suggest to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

  3. Hi there, I found your web site by means of Google even as searching for
    a related subject, your web site got here up, it appears great.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and located that it’s really informative.

    I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate in case
    you proceed this in future. Numerous other folks shall be benefited out
    of your writing. Cheers!

  4. I’m very happy for being the following simply because this is the excellent web page
    that provides a great deal of information regarding your subjects coated
    comprehensive. I will be glad to discover that people are
    in reality authoring this challenge in that intelligent
    means, exhibiting people distinct features with it. You should continue the good work.
    We cannot wait around to learn whats following.

Leave a Reply

